7.14.2009

FINALLY an update.

I know, I know, I know... It has been too long, but I've been busy! The time here is winding down and while my trip has been packed full everyday, there still seems to be so much that I still want to do.

While I've been busy there's not TOO much to report on. Last week I had to finish up all my school work (final paper, journals, readings, etc) and turn it all in... What a relief. Now I'll fill you in on the fun stuff :)

Last weekend, my friend, Jessie and I took a bus trip to Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Bath. It was a pretty fun trip. Windsor Castle reminded me a lot of the castles and palaces we went to in Spain... Pretty, ornate, HUGE, rooms decorated in rich colours: reds, blues, golds. The grounds were really pretty as well. DIDN'T stop The Queen herself, but she was there.... We also saw the changing of the guards which was neat. A lot of marching around and such... didn't really understand what was going on but I'm sure they did.

Stonehenge was sweet. It's actually not as big as I thought it would be. But the rocks are huge, and how they got from Whales down to southern England so long ago boggles my mind.

Last stop was Bath. The town was super cute. It's all made out of the same stone, so the whole town kind of gives off a 'glow.' It's really hilly, and has a little river running through it for some really breathtaking scenes.
The Roman Baths themselves were really cool to see as well, but the water was quite dirty. They advised us not to touch or get too close to it... Walking around and thinking about people using them so many years ago was quite cool. There was also one little bath that was bubbling naturally. It was under a volcanic spring or something so it made the water suuuuuuper hot... I wanted to jump in, but Jessie told me I couldn't.

That week, like I said, I finished up my paper and other school work; had my last day of class! :) and my last day of work :(

I was so sad to leave. If you couldn't tell by my last couple posts: I REALLY loved my coworkers and job. I couldn't have asked for a better company to work for (no, they don't read this, so I'm not trying to suck up or anything.. haha) The last day, I brought in some carrot cake for everyone during tea time, and after work we all headed to a pub 'for a laugh.'
We went to the pub that Michelle Obama took her kids to while she was in London a while ago. Next, we made our way to the company's 'classic' pub: The Goat. It was a bit different scene :) haha, but a lot of fun. We got about 10 bags of crisps and opened them all on the middle of the table to share. It was a good end to a great internship.
As goodbye presents.. which were completely unneccessary.. they framed one of my pictures I had taken, printed and toned while I was there. Antony printed out one of his favorite pictures he's taken (with his pinhole camera - sweet), and they gave me a Holga camera! I've never used one.. not too sure how to (Help, Barry?) But I'll figure it out. Rob also gave me a roll of color and a roll of b&w to start with... I'm excited to start using it.
I miss my coworkers already, but they said they'd give me a call on Friday to maybe meet up for a couple drinks before I leave the UK for good.

This weekend, my friend, Kyle, arrived in London for his last stop of his journey around Europe. On Friday, I took him around 'classic' London: Buckingham Palace, Trafalger Square, Big Ben, Parliament, London Eye, and down the Thames to the Globe, Tate Modern, and St. Paul's. It's a walk I've done three or four times now, but I still love it every time.

Saturday night, we went and saw Avenue Q... Loved it. I love musicals.. Everytime I walk out of one, I'm convinced that not only can I sing really well, but that I should sing really loudly.... I also convince myself that my life would be SO much better if it were a musical, so I try to make myself believe it is.. through doing the aboved mentioned. It works - until people start throwing things at me.

Sunday, I took a bus to Oxford for the day. I got to see a lot of the areas Harry Potter was filmed at, or the sets were inspired by.. It was quite cool (obviously) Oxford was a really pretty town as well.. Definitely a good day trip.

Yesterday, I had my 'viva.' Basically, I had to go talk to my project supervisor and internship coordinator about how much I loved my job, what I did, what it was like, etc.. Then a little bit about my paper.. I also took in the picture they framed for me to show them. They really enjoyed my pictures and my project they said... We'll see how much so when I get my grade back... Haha..
After that, I met up with Kyle again and took him to Camden, one of my very favorite parts of London (I'm pretty sure I've talked about it a couple times before) I don't know what it is about the area that I like so much. It's on a boat lock, so that's really neat. They have tons of stalls set up along the river with shirts, jewellery, cds, etc.. and the buildings are all really neat. If anyway visits London, definitely take time to make a stop at Camden Town.

For today, I'm planning on studying for my final exam. Then going to the National Portrait Gallery and British Museam. Also, going to stop by the TKTS stand and see if there are any cheapish tickets for Billy Elliot since I love musicals so much.

Harry Potter comes out tonight at midnight! Whooooooo! Get pumped... But London doesn't have a midnight premire ANYWHERE... Crazy, right?!? Trust me, I've done research and the earliest showing is 9am tomorrow morning... Obviously, I'm attending. It's at the theatre that it premiered at here... so that's pretty cool.

My time here is quickly coming to an end... too quickly... way too quickly. I'm excited to get home and see everyone, but I know I'll be missing London greatly. I get back on Saturday the 18th afternoonish.. Looking forward to my big "Welcome Home" parties I know you all have been planning since the day I left... I prefer white cake with chocolate icing (or carrot cake) and tea... in case you guys were wondering or anything.

Sorry it was so long without an update, but better late than never, I suppose.

7.02.2009

Good Week

Alright, before I really get cracking on my paper (planning to finish it tonight so I don't have to worry about it anymore) I wanted to update... It's been a really good week at work and I wanted to share it!

On Tuesday, I was doing some basic editing on Photoshop. Cleaning up the images, doing a little levels/brightness/contrast whatnot when one of my bosses remembered that we really needed to get to work on a couple images. This wasn't any basic editing though, it was something a little more complicated only one of the guys really knew how to do. He had written directions and showed a couple people, but the paper was lost, and no one really remembered how to do it. They asked me if I somehow knew how to do it... I told them I sort of watched James do it once while he was talking to me... I asked for 10 minutes and a computer to try to figure it out on. Somehow, I found a way to make it work (wasn't EXACTLY) the way he did it... but it worked! It was very exciting to be able to really contribute to the production in that way. Sure, I've taken a couple pictures before, done basic editing, but for me to be able to teach them and help them out felt great :)

On Wednesday, I got to develop my roll of film I shot with their camera. It felt good to be working with film again since it's been a couple months since the last time I was able to.
After that, I got to help Antony shoot the Primer League trophy! Compare this to the Super Bowl Trophy then multiply the love America has for that by like three million and that kind of starts putting this trophy into perspective :) Hahaha... It was super big, and pretty... and shiny. Which means reflective... Which means SO much fun to photograph.. haha. We ended up building a huge cylinder out of white paper to wrap it in, and cutting a hole in part of it to stick the camera through. It was quite a process, but it turned out really nice. Here's a picture for you: TROPHY - Pretty sweet, right? One of my British friends (who is a big football fan) couldn't believe I got to touch it! (even though it was only with gloves on) haha...

Today: Was a fantastic day. I got to work in the dark room alllllllllllllllllll dayyyyyyyy. Made a lot of prints of my pictures that I'm excited to show off when I get home :)

Alright, well, I think that's enough procrastination for now. I really better get to work on this paper...

6.30.2009

The REAL Ireland Update.

Pictures (<--LINK) to accompany reading. I suggest opening two windows and flipping through the pictures as you read about them... Like a picture book. Fun.

Ireland was fantastic... I don't really know where to begin... I guess I'll begin with Friday.

Friday:
Get up at... 4am, I think? Not 100% sure. Our plan was scheduled to leave at 6.25, so we wanted to make it there in plenty of time. As soon as we get there, we are informed that our plane is delayed due to technical problems................................. until an estimated time of 9.45... Cool. Off to a good start. So, after sitting in the airport for 5 hours, it's finally time to board. The flight takes less than an hour. We're all in semi high spirits, considering we just had to wait for 5 hours, but really not too pumped about the way our trip is starting out... Until we ask the first local a question. The people in London are very friendly, the locals in France.......................... not so much), but we've heard the Irish like the Americans more than the French (like that's hard) so we prepare for the same friendliness we receive in England. We were not prepared for HOW nice they were though! And not just nice... funny. They smile at us, give us correct instructions on where to go/what to do, etc.... Nice.
So, we get on the correct bus, the bus driver tells us he will call out our stop for us, and with his (and the friendly lady next to me) help, we get off at our stop and find our hostel. After we check in, we ask the (very attractive) Irish desk worker where we should go to eat. He suggests (and gives us directions to) The Stag's Head... We go. I order the Chicken Hot Pot (Sooooooooooooo delicious.) and a Smithwick's... It's Ireland.
After our filling meal, we take our bags back to the hostel as we weren't allowed to go up into our room the first time since it wasn't clean... We then meet our hostel mate... We don't ever get his real name, but we refer to him as Enrique the rest of the trip. He's from Barcelona and is spending who knows how long (he doesn't even know) in Ireland, learning English.

We then go exploring around Dublin... Going to Trinity College, a couple Cathedrals, Grafton St., Temple Bar area, and St. Stephen Green's Park. It's all lovely. You can see pictures in the link I posted at top. That night, we go to another pub for dinner. I'm still full from the Chicken Hot Pot, so I get a little sandwich). Then, we meet up with the other girls in the program for a night at THE Temple Bar. It was fun, but we were all worn out from our journey, so we got to bed pretty early.

Saturday:
Train to Cork to see Blarney. It. Was. Gorgeous. The whole castle grounds are uber pretty. The line to kiss the Blarney Stone was ridiculously long, but we wanted to wait and kiss it... I thought for luck, but was soon informed that it was for eloquence (I still made a wish and swear I've been more lucky ever since I kissed it... Wanted to make sure I covered all the possibilities... Just in case) We hopped in line in the middle of a group from a Princess Cruise (I noticed their stickers with the logo) I then started chatting with the two older ladies behind me. Find out they are, in fact, on a cruise around the British Isles and from Ohio! We keep talking to them... and I later realized it's because they reminded me of you, Mom. It was probably the closest I've come to being homesick since I've been here... and it wasn't that I was homesick, really... They just reminded me of Mom and one of her sisters - the specific one changed, but point is, I could see Louise and any one of my aunts going on this journey with her, and you guys talking to the college girls in front of you in line the whole time.. Good little reminder of home :)

Anyway, I digress... We finally make it in to the castle and begin our ascent up to the Blarney Stone.... It's a very trechorous climb and I honestly don't know how the people on either side of me made it up. I swore I was going to pass out in the middle of one of the tiny, steep, sprial staircases. Finally after a million stairs, there is a light at the end of the turret.

Next thing I know, I'm in front of the stone, being grabbed, shoved down, and told to grab the gaurdrails and kiss the stone.... Uhhhh, okay. I REALLY don't know how the 80 year olds in front of me lived through it... I almost didn't (but I am 28 according to Wii Fit). As I stand up, however, I immediately feel ten times more eloquent, gracefull, lucky, prettier, etc than before... All of this is proven to be true later in the journey.

We take the train back to Dublin then, and go to a pub suggested by our cab driver, the Hairy Lemon. Again, we are quite knackered so we hit the hay semi early (but only after a delicious kebab)

Sunday:

Took the train to Galway. We didn't make it in time to take a bus tour to the Cliffs of Moher so we grabbed lunch at a little pub. I had THE best fish and chips of my life... literally. I think it's probably due to the fact that it was caught 20 minutes before it was fried... I'm guessing.... But I'm guessing that guess is correct.
ANYWAY. After that, we took our own walking tour around Galway... Then it started raining.. but we ventured on. Galway is... quaint. Very pretty... a good break from the 'cities' I suppose, but I've found I'm a city girl.
I took quite a... 'trip' while there. I don't think I can really give it justice through text, but in short, I tried to take on an inanimate object (works very well... reference that time I tried to fight the movie theatre chair and ended with a huge bruise on my head, or that time I managed to hit myself with my golf ball, I could continue) ended with me on the wet ground, my umbrella ten feet in front of me, my shoe caught on a banner stand (tangled may be a better word for it), and a group of 10 thirteen year olds and my two friends laughing for about 10 minutes... Use your imagination. - Clearly, the Blarney Stone really blessed me with grace.
After I bandaged myself (and my ego) from that fall, we went back to the hostel to freshen up before our night out.
Any local we asked for advice on what to do RAVED about the local music scene. So, we went to a famous pub (The King's Head) for dinner and a pint. Little did we know, it was the night of the Brasil/USA football (soccer for all you American's) game. Since the pub was completely silent except for the cheering for everyone's respective teams, we had no choice but to watch the game... which, I am proud to report, I thoroughly enjoyed... Even though we lost. Anyway... After the game, a cover band came out and played some songs... It reminded me of my little brother's band and again made me miss home a bit. A good end to a good trip though.

Monday:
Ventured back to Dublin. We had a couple hours before our plane left, so we decided to do the tour of the Guinness factory. It was pretty cool, not much to say about it though... Just check out the pics :)
For dinner we went to The Brazen Head, Dublin's oldest pub. I had Irish Stew... Delish.

Our plane home was on time and I made it back just before midnight.

Today was a really good day at work, but I'm getting sick of typing and I'm sure you're all sick of reading. So I'll leave you with another friendly reminder to look at the pictures (they're pretty... I promise) and if you ever get a chance to visit Ireland... GO!

Cheers!

6.28.2009

Ireeeeeeeeeeeland.

Can't really update... Currently in the hostel in Galway... Loving Ireland (much moreso than Paris)

I'll update fully when I return to London :)

Don't miss the updates too much, Mom!

6.21.2009

Lovely.

Today was a great day. Slept in, then went to get a "full English breakfast" with Julianne. Ate... basically the entire thing: scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, tomatoes, cucumbers, annnnnnnnnnd baked beans? It was delicious.

It was such a beautiful day, I decided to grab my camera(s) - mine and the film one from work, and go out around the Buckingham Palace/where I work area. Then, I just kept walking... and walking... and walking. For five hours. It was glorious. After Buckingham Palace, I made my way to Trafalger Square, then down to Big Ben and Parliament, over to London Eye. Walked along the Thames all the way down to Tate Modern and St. Paul's.... I GoogleMapped the route I took at it's roughly............................. five miles. It was great. Here are the pictures I took... Facebook makes the grayscale look really terrible though...... PICTURES.

Yesterday, was also a beautiful day in London. I took the day to catch up... Laundry, cleaning, etc. Then I went over to Hyde Park and worked on some school work, read, and picniced. In the evening, a couple of girls and I went back to Brick Lane for a night out.

Tomorrow, it's supposed to rain, but if it holds off, I'm planning on going to Camden to take some more pictures... My co-workers all reccommended that I take pictures there, so I will!

FAMILY: Why didn't you comment on my last post?!?! Is even my family dying out on their enthusiastic reading??

6.20.2009

Half Way Done :(

I just realized I never posted the link to the pictures from (Sirap) Paris! Ooops.. Here ya go: Pictures!

In other news...

Wednesday: Work was a lot of fun. They let me go into the dark room and make some prints of old negatives they had laying around. It was pretty sweet getting some private lessons from a guy as knowledgeable as Keith (the dark room professional of the company) Then they dug out an old film 35mm Nikon for me to take with me for the weekend to shoot a roll with. Then, I can make some prints of my own pictures! I'm really excited to do that... I haven't worked in the dark room for quite a while and it's something I really enjoy. That night I had class... Where we learned about "Working in the UK" Not the most thrilling lecture I've ever attended.

Thursday: Work again. Helped take some pictures of furniture, then edited some on Photoshop. That night, we went over to the pub, Prince Albert, for dinner before turning in early.. We were all pretty tired from the week.

Friday: The Royal Ascot! It's a big horse race here... Kind of like the Kentucky Derby, but the Queen attends. Saw the Royal Procession, then then races began. It was pretty fun... Even though I don't know anything about horse races. Didn't win anything... Not surprising, but I only bet £6 so it wasn't a huuuuge loss... and it made it more fun. A couple girls did win though! Anywhere from £12-125! After the race, Julianne, Janelle, Rachael, Jessie and I went to Yo! Sushi, one of those conveyor belt sushi places... It was really tasty.

Today: Nothing too big planned... Just a catching up day, I think. Laundry, cleaning the room, then probably heading over to the park to work on some school work... It's beautiful out now, so hopefully it stays this way..

Check out the pictures from Paris, and sorry my life hasn't been anything too exciting to read about lately... but I still love it!

6.16.2009

Sirap

Don't have too much time to update since I'm meeting Lauren in like 20 minutes for Flight of the Conchords! WHOOOOOOOOO

Anyway...

This weekend was PARIS.

It wasn't quite what I expected but I had a very good time. I do loooooooooove London though... so I'm a (little) bias :)

Friday: We got in and made our way to our hotel. We then went to the Arc de Triomphe.. and walked around all over there. Before sunset, we came upon the Eiffel Tower and decided to go up... Allllll the way :) It was absolutely beautiful and saw the sun beginning to set.... The view was amazing. Anyone who comes to Paris MUST go up to the top... Awesome.
By the time we got back down, it had started getting dark and the lights were beginning to come on. We went and grabbed some crepes, and sat down in the lawn in front of it to enjoy the crepes, talk, and watch the Eiffel Tower light up.

Saturday: We decided to go to a little district of Paris my co-worker, Robert, reccommended... Monmarte. Definitely a very cool part of Paris. It was much less touristy and very cute. It also had an epic church... and weird lunch. I took pictures.
That night we were all pretty tired so we went back to the Effiel Tower, ate some baguettes then went back to the hotel for a good night's rest.

Sunday: It was supposed to rain, so we planned for the Lourve. It didn't rain, but we still went. It was pretty sweet as well... Though, I must admit, I found myself marveling the architecture more than the artwork a lot of the times.... Oops? :)
Seeing things like Mona Lisa, and Venus de Milo in real life was pretty spectacular though. Then we wandered around various parts of Paris for a bit until we decided to head back to Monmarte for ice cream and people watching... Great idea.

Monday: Was the day of our departure, but we had enough time for one adventure before we left. We planned to go to the underground cemetary, the Catacombs, and I was very excited for this part... Little did we know, the Catacombs are closed on Mondays... Sooooooooooooo we instead had time to sit in a cute little cafe, drink coffee, and eat crepes before our depature.

I'm definitely glad I went, but I personally much prefer London. :) It's good to be back.

Today... I just had work. My co-workers heard me call it the "trashcan" though, and all began telling me other funny things they thought I said. One remembered be calling the lead a "cord." and they found it very humourous that I said "Sweet" when I found something interesting or cool. They also thought it was very stranged I always wished them to "have a good day!"
Apparently, that's not common here... I'm slowly, but surely becoming more British however, as I completely unconciously referred to my apartment as my "flat" and my friends as my "mates" (my co-workers also pointed this out)

I can't believe my time here is almost halfway over! But enough blogging... time for Flight of the Conchords :)

Mom: Next time I talk to you on the phone remind me to tell you about a delicious idea for lunch for you.

Torie: Can't wait to talk to you about LOST. I was so proud when I read that you started watching it :)

Dad: I refer to it as Sirap all the time now... No one else gets it, but I figure it will catch on.. along with the "spot of tea" and Nose-Knows... Just give it time.