5.28.2009

Is this Real Life?

It's only 4 and I'm already worn out...

Left the flat today at 9 to go to class. This class was a vast improvement to class yesterday. Probably partially because I was prepared for an actual lecture and partially because it was over the current events in London, so it was very interesting.

After class I told my roommates that I needed to go find my internship building for my interview tomorrow and Julianne wanted to join. We got suddenly really hungry as we were walking to the tube station and decided to stop in at a little pub for some lunch... Dad, you will be so very pleased to hear that I tried the British favorite: fish and chips (with mashed peas)... Yes, I even ate (some of) the chips. The fish was deeeeeeeeeelicious :) and the mashed peas were shockingly good as well.

After our filling meal of fried food, we took the tube to Green Park. We step out of the tube station and are immediately in awe of the part of the city we are in. The buildings are magnificent, and there are sings for Buckingham Palace all over the place... I was COMPLETELY unaware of the area I was going to be working in and I never would have expected it to be as brilliant as it is. It's much more New York City like than Bayswater... Julianne and I stumbled upon one part of town we dubbed the "Times Square" of London. After finding my possible place of employment, we decided to wander down towards Buckingham Palace. We explored there for quite a while... walking around in some of the gardens and such. We talked about going down towards Trafalger Square, but decided we would come back another day when we were more prepared and not so worn out. It's only about a 15 minute journey by tube.

I'm now back at 11 Palace Court and I'm going to take a quick nap before the night festivities begin. Nothing too big planned. Julianne and I have our hearts set on some Gellato for dinner since our Fish and Chips were so filling earlier, but I'm going to have to turn in pretty early so I can make sure I nail my interview tomorrow... Wish me luck!

Cheerio!

3 comments:

  1. With out pictures it's just so much babble!

    Bg

    ReplyDelete
  2. Absolutely brilliant. But I agree with Bg. Pictures? Keep up the good work with posting. Mashed peas? As in baby food? Love Mom

    ReplyDelete
  3. WT_H. "haven't taken my rebel out yet"?! Now how often did you see me in Spain without camera? Bad girl, no tea and biscuit! Good photos though, top drawer! When do you ladies plan on going for a dip?

    Bg

    ReplyDelete