6.02.2009

First Day of Work, Diane Arbus, and Weekends Schedule.

First day of work done and I'm totally shattered (A phrase I've picked up from one of my British mates meaning 'extremely sleepy')

Work was a lot of fun. I cannot lie, it's just a lot of standing up/running around/information being thrown at me....

The day started out with a cup of tea (not surprisingly... no carrot cake though) Then I met about 10-12 people... Two were named James and two others Keith, so if I ever blanked, I chose one of the two... and I was usually right. Next, I went with one of the James' to do some deliveries around town. He pointed out a lot of the company's other clients along the way, and at our last stop, we were able to look around at the Diane Arbus exhibit... which was awesome. After I got back, I helped one of the guys shoot some paint pallets from the 1800's. One was William Beechey's and I can't remember the others, but it was also very old. The rest of the day I learned about Photoshop and how they use it, how to frame pictures, and just a lot of other things here and there. At 11 and 4 every day we have a tea break where I entertained them all by telling them about where I was from and a little about America/Indiana... They were very intrigued by the concept of Bourbon... the town. For my lunch break, I grabbed a sandwich and went down to the park to enjoy it... It was such a nice day.

When I got back, I booked my trips to Pairs and Ireland! And figured out the rest of my weekends....

1st: Day trip to Cotswold on Saturday... Birthday weekend as well!
2nd: PARIS.
3rd: The Royal Ascot day trip and perhaps Greenwich?
4th: IRELAND.
5th: Bath
6th: Last weekend in London :( - Probably go to a show
7th: Return to the US of A

Rough life, right? I'm getting really comfortable with the city and being here now (There's a lot I haven't discovered, I know... but I feel very comfortable here) but I still catch myself thinking "HOLY CRAP... I'm in London!" on a daily basis...

Well, I best head off to bed. Another full day tomorrow with work and class right after. Cheerio!

3 comments:

  1. Thanks for the update. Dad gave me a little briefing, but it is not just the same as hearing your version. I love that they like to listen to you talk - do you say, "no, you talk"? Sounds like a fun day and I am glad you are enjoying work. Love MOM

    ReplyDelete
  2. I MISSED YOUR CALL AGAIN! Give me a warning email next time, will you? So I can have my phone out and ready!

    Love your updates...jealous of your job, sounds so fun! Call me again!

    love, torie

    ReplyDelete
  3. sounds pretty amazing!! someday i hope to make my way to london and do all those amazing things :)

    enjoy your time!! and take tons of pictures like anyone needs to tell you that ;)

    ReplyDelete